please help me i am 16 and came out to my parents and my mom slapped me and started yelling at me

Question:

please help me i am 16 and came out to my parents and my mom slapped me and started yelling at me and now she says she is gonna turn me straight if its the last thing she does

im so scared what do i do?

Answer:

I’m sorry to hear that.  It’s best not to come out to those close to you unless you feel it’s completely safe.  Now that you have and she wasn’t exactly what one could call a mother, I would back away from the gay topic with her indefinitely.  If she brings it up again just deny you’re gay.  Go along with her simply for survival reasons.  Meanwhile you’ll most likely be out of the house by 18 or at least work to get out of the house by then.  Once you’re safely on your own, then give it to her.  Tell her how you feel and that you were disappointed in her original reaction.  At that point she’ll be free to wallow in denial and you’ll be long gone and happier.

Categories: Bullying, Gay Teens

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

