How do Gay Teens feel about their attractiveness?

A Forum asked: Does it bother you that you’re not attractive?

Here are some of their responses:

Location: Isle of Wight, UK
Talevarde wrote:

“I think I look semi-okay in front of the mirror. But 99% of the time when I look at a photo of myself, I immediately think “Oh damn, how can anyone be so hideous?”.
Location: Nottingham
“I wish I looked better… I was I was taller too. I don’t like being short for a boy.

It does bother me sometimes that I’m not good looking, but yeah, sort of have to deal with it.”

“I don’t think I’m attractive, but other’s do, so not really, no.”

“Uh so one of my dreams has been to be a trophy husband (another is just sleeping up the corporate ladder cause office sex is hot), so yea it bothers me I’m not modelesque, but I like making lemonade. Oh and I’m a genius, so I forgive my parents for the ugly genes.”

“Lol I have friends and a boyfriend who said I am pretty/beautiful/cute/hot.. All that good stuff. I like 95% of time think I am hot in photos to the point I check myself out BUT oddly I get insecure when total strangers don’t like me and such! Plus I am a FB social person sooo yeah.. If I don’t get any ‘likes’ I feel so sad sometimes. <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< story of my life”

Location: Northeast London
“I go from vain to self loathing and everywhere in between, but that’s just life.”

Location: London, England
“I cannot see why such things would bother anyone, unless they’re losing out on a good relationship over it, there are far more important things to worry about.”

Location: Her Majesty’s Garden
PatrickMCooney wrote:
“I go from vain to self loathing and everywhere in between, but that’s just life.”

“Society in general tends to respect good-looking people more than the ugly ones so yeah, its a big deal.”

Location: London, England
“Then you must gain respect in other ways, there’s no way to change it, so deal with it.”

“I’m definitely not hot (I get “cute” a fair bit).  Sometimes when I look at myself in the mirror I think that I look OK, but in pic I reflect and vilify myself. Overall, though, I haven’t had trouble being social since I came out, but I did feel the need to lose some weight and buy new clothes in order to be truly fulfilled in that department. I still have some self-confidence issues, but they’re not nearly as bad as before. Maybe I’m just shallow, but as long as I am happy with myself, I don’t really care what other people think.”

“I’m basically the same. I do get called awkwardly cute a lot though which I hope is a compliment.”

“If you can make someone laugh your degree of attractiveness doesn’t matter….I find this generally true, although it’s known that some gays are incredibly vain.”

“Yeah, that’s why I’ve been taking steps to look better. Be the best you can be!”

Categories: Gay Teens, Young Adult | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

