Bullying Teens

Bullying is not just “kids being kids”.  It can have a damaging impact on children, families and communities.  As an adult, I know I can help in a few specific ways.  


Here is my pledge which you need to adopt yourself as well:

I will speak up – I will take a stand about this issue, even before it touches my friends and family so everyone knows I take it seriously.

I will advocate – I will advocate for children, both my own and others, in need of my help.  I will support quality bullying prevention training for all school staff so everyone can effectively help out children.

I will be a role model – I will show kids how to deal with conflicts by setting the standard with my own behavior.

I will be a partner – I will work with schools, parents, caretakers, coaches and other working hard to stop bullying – especially if they report my child is involved.


  • Bullying makes kids want to be invisible.  We can show them, through our actions, that we see them, we are listening – and most importantly – they can count on us to make their lives better. Taking this pledge is the first step, so I will forward it to my friends and family to grow a community committed  to ending bullying.

I will speak up.  Bullying isn’t only targeted to young people who are definitely more vulnerable to it, but bullying also happens in the adult world.   Adults bully other adults.  There are those that bully who are unaware that their bullying.  Sometimes people need to be called on their shit.

Much of the bullying unfortunately also comes from religious groups, although not everyone who is bullying is religious and not everyone who is religious is bullying or judgmental.  The odds are that most of them are.  Because the ones that aren’t, no one is hearing from.

example of religious bullying and harassment


1. Bully:

   (1): to treat abusively (2): to affect by means of force or coercion.  (3) Use superior strength or influence to intimidate (someone), typically to force him or her to do what one wants.


2. Harass:

(1) : to annoy persistently (2) : to create an unpleasant or hostile situation by uninvited and unwelcome verbal or physical conduct.

Categories: Gay Teens, Teen Suicide, Young Adult | Tags: , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

